Your browser does not support Javascript



Division of Oceanography

The Division of Oceanography has currently more than 60 researchers, technologists, technicians and administrative staff. The activities of the division range from scientific research to technological development and are addressed to experimental and theoretical oceanography, with particular reference to physical and biological oceanography, biogeochemistry, marine ecology and modeling of marine systems. Currently, the expertise of the staff cover four areas

The Technological Development Unit (TECDEV), with Marine Metrology and Calibration Unit (CTMO) and mechanical workshop (OFFMEC), and the National Oceanographic Data Center (NODC) operate within the Division of Oceanography. The NODC is part of the International Oceanographic Data Exchange (IODE) system of the UNESCO's Intergovernmental Oceanographic Commission (IOC). The NODC database currently contains more than 300 thousand vertical profiles of physical and biochemical variables, to which the scientific community has free access through a simple web interface. The information system OGS/NODC is integrated for all practical purposes into the European network of distributed databases (SeaDataNet).

The division manages two main observatory sites: the coastal site “Gulf of Trieste”, which includes a series of meteo-marine data, acquired by continuous systematic monitoring (Monitoraggio Ambientale Operativo, MAMBO), and the site of long term ecological research Gulf of Trieste-Time series, which is included in the Italian Long Term Ecological Research-LTER network and the oceanic site E2M3A, situated at the center of the South Adriatic Trench, inserted into the European network of the EuroSITES oceanic observatories project of the global OceanSITES network. The site E2M3A supplies meteorological data and physical and biochemical data in the intermediate and deep part of the water column to the air-sea interface.

Head: Cosimo Solidoro
Assistant manager: Alessandra Giorgetti 
Management and Administration:  A. Zanetti, A.L. Tarantino, V. Stemberger